In Which Flirty Gets a Ring

Yes, my flirtatious introversion has finally paid off.  Aeon and I are getting married next year!  About a week ago he asked me to meet him on top of a hill near my house, and I ran all the way to the top, where I found he had marvelously set up a table and chairs and two glasses of prosecco. When he asked me to marry him and opened the little velvet box, I squealed “Yes!  Of course I will!” and glomped him.  Eeeeeeee!

“Flirty, I still have to put the ring on your finger.”

“Oh!  Right.”

This episode reminded me of the night we were introduced.  After a Catholic Event, Aeon walked up to preoccupied and awkward me and said “Hi, I’m Aeon.”

“Hi!”

Aeon’s friend: “Aeon, this is flirtyintrovert.”

Me again: “Oh, yes, um, I’m flirty.  That’s me.  Nice to meet you.”  Aeon found this improbably enchanting.

I was always afraid that I didn’t know how to fall in love, but the suspense is over now.  I used to comb through relationship columns, asking “How will I know?”  Sometimes the answers filled me with alarm: Seraphic, for instance, described a sort of head-exploding delirium that sounded quite beyond my powers.  You have to take your temperament into account, though.  Seraphic would admit to lifelong boy-craziness, whereas I am usually as crush-proof as a stainless steel briefcase.  It was only when a man would show active interest in me that I could form an attraction to him – which, come to think of it, is an awfully enviable gift!

My advice for any other calm, phlegmatic girls out there: you’ll know it’s true love when marriage is on the table and you really feel like marrying the guy.  I am sick of shuttling back and forth between my house and Aeon’s apartment; I can’t wait until we can just lock the door and go to bed without scandalizing all our friends and relations.  I just love him!  How else can I explain it?  I can’t report any flu-like symptoms, heart palpitations (yet lightness of heart most certainly), hallucinations or hysteria.  You don’t need to feel like you’re losing your mind.  Me, I just feel like I’ve found Home.

Here are some of the manifold excellences of Aeon:

1.  He is endlessly kind.  When I was freaking out over my grading, he came over and let me cry all over him.  Then he took me to a pub and bought me a Blue Moon and a martini.  Even aside from crises like this, he is very patient with my weird, meandering brain.

2.  He is soooo funny!  His personae include a 20s radio announcer, a narrator of nature documentaries, a D&D nerd, and a spy named Edgar Figaro.  He’s always trolling me, and we laugh a lot.

3.  He’s from Brooklyn and says ‘wardah’ for ‘water.’  He has big blue eyes with long lashes and he puffs out his burly chest if we are walking through a shady part of town.  He likes to drink Guinness and eat spaghetti and meatballs.  He is adorable (in a hot way).

4.  Fortunately he thinks I’m hot too.

5. Catholic; not a Jansenist.  Loves God.  Talks theology and philosophy with me.

6.  Makes money writing about superheroes.

7.  Has a million friends.

8. – 276. (to be continued.)

Okay, I need to wrap this up and find us some dinner.  The ring, if you’re curious, is  elvish-looking, Art Deco, and set with a pearl instead of a diamond.  Unique, not too pricey, but vulnerable to lemon juice and scratches, so needs to be treated gently.

About flirtyintrovert

I love reading blogs more than talking to people. I'm trying to change that by writing a blog.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to In Which Flirty Gets a Ring

  1. Anna says:

    “It was only when a man would show active interest in me that I could form an attraction to him”. Yes. “Me, I just feel like I’ve found Home.” And yes.

    Felicitations!

  2. Aeon says:

    I agree with everything you said here!

  3. Sheila says:

    So, so happy for you. I think when you know, you really do know. It doesn’t have to be headoverheelsy. It just has to feel right.

    Hope marriage makes you as happy as it does me. Is it too early to wish you a houseful of little poets?

  4. petitepaumee says:

    Congratulations! I found your blog through Seraphic and I’ve been lurking for a while. Please do keep posting – I love your assorted thoughts!

  5. Bolyongok says:

    I’m so happy for you (and him;))! :D Emoticons fail me, I must call you soon!

  6. Spacetraveller says:

    Congratulations Flirty Introvert!
    And like Sheila, I want to ‘jump the gun’ and wish you a big happy family, but on second thoughts I think I’ll wait until after the wedding :-D

  7. Amy says:

    What excellent news! I’ve been reading the trend of your recent thoughts and wondering if there was something more to tell. I love your description of finding ‘Home’. Yes! This is what marriage is about!

  8. Anacaona says:

    I don’t comment, here but I’m subscribed. Congratulations to both. Wishing you happiness and the family you both want. :)
    The ring sounds lovely :)

  9. Kate P says:

    Recent lurker (via Seraphic–or was it Charming Disarray?); belated/ongoing congratulations and best wishes!

  10. Best wishes, flirtyintrovert.

  11. Pingback: Poetesses and Marriage | David Collard

  12. Pingback: Virginity poem nears 1,000 hits | David Collard

Leave a Reply

